Matt Nable’s star continues to rise on screen

Interview 

MATT Nable is one of Australia’s quiet on-screen achievers.
With no less than five TV and movie roles already lined-up for next year, the former rugby player will play everything from a Vietnam veteran to an Australian swimming coach and a small-town cop.



But he’s not too busy to rub shoulders and have a yarn with the fans of his TV shows and movies at the Supanova Pop Culture Expo in Brisbane this weekend.



“I’ve done other conventions overseas in the US and UK, but I’ve never done Supanova. This will be my first time,” Nable told APN.
“They’re a little bit overwhelming… the first one I did there was more than 100,000 people over the weekend.



“It’s very humbling and very flattering in a situation where people are interested in what you’ve got to say about a show. It also gives you a perspective on just how invested these fans are; without them you wouldn’t have a job.



“It’s nice to sit down and talk to people and find out why they’re such fans and how they became fans. I get a lot out of them.



“Sci-fi fans often ask him about his roles in Riddick, opposite Vin Diesel, and as the baddie Ra’s Al Ghul in DC’s TV series Arrow.
“My character is such a significant character with in the DC Comic world, so they’re interested in what my take is on it and how I try to make it my own,” he said.

“But they’re mostly interested in what’s going to happen (on the show) and unfortunately I can’t tell them because I don’t know either.”

Nable said he’s open to returning to Arrow if the show’s writers decided to bring his character back.



“I haven’t heard anything lately but they certainly had some ideas to bring that character back to go into the mythology of the League of Assassins and to explore the relationship with his daughter,” he said.
“Down the line I’m sure they’ve got some plans to bring him back, but then it comes down to (my) availability. I’d love to come back and play that character.”

This year also saw Nable star in the crime series Winter opposite Rebecca Gibney and Channel 9’s First World War epic Gallipoli.

Next year Nable will be seen in the US drama Quarry, which follows the experiences of a US Marine who returns home after the Vietnam War to find himself shunned by those he loves.

“It’s a really solid piece of TV; the guys at Cinemax are very clever,” he said.



“There was a lot of stuff that was cool to be a part of because my father was in the army for 20 years so I had experience being around soldiers. I certainly haven’t been on any battlegrounds, but the way they set it up was pretty realistic.



“It’s a pretty special piece of storytelling, so fingers crossed (it airs in Australia).”

Next year also sees him starring as a swimming coach in the ABC’s small-screen adaptation of Christos Tsiolkas’s novel Barracuda and the Australian feature films Hacksaw Ridge and Jasper Jones.

Nable is also a talented writer, with cameras rolling on a film he penned next year in Perth.

“It’s a bikie film… a contemporary story,” he said.  “I’ll play a role, but I’m certainly not the lead in it.”

The Supanova Pop Culture Expo plays the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre through Sunday.



Matt Nable will conduct general admission Q&As and participate in signing and photo sessions today from 10.30am to 5.30pm and tomorrow from 11am to 5pm .

Original Interview from Brisbane Times

Leave a Reply

